Denim Reed

Note: I received this pattern and a payment as part of Grainline’s #SewVisible project. Blogging was not required. All opinions are my own.

During the big size-inclusive conversation sparked at the beginning of this year, a number of companies announced plans (sometimes plans already in the works) to expand size ranges, often through the development of new plus-size blocks. One of the companies I was particularly excited to see a new size range from was Grainline Studio, whose clean, work-wear inspired, androgynous style really appeals to me. As they started the process, I also served as a paid consultant on their initial sizing survey and blog post announcing the size expansion plans. I’ve been really impressed by the way Jen Beeman and her team have approached this process and have genuinely enjoyed working with them!

Shannon, a fat white person, standing outside wearing a teal midi skirt with buttons down the front, a chambray button-front shirt, and a mustard-colored sweatervest. They stand with one hand behind their neck looking down at the ground.

But on to the make! As part of the #SewVisible project, I received their two newest patterns, the Reed Skirt and Thayer Jacket. I started with the skirt, but the jacket will be forthcoming! I sourced the fabric, a non-stretch denim in an overdyed teal, and the brass buttons from SR Harris.

Shannon in the same outfit, standing sideways to the camera with her hands in the pockets of her skirt.

Based on the size range and my seated measurements, I made a size 24, and graded down the waist by 1/4″ on both side seams (a total of 1″), bringing it closer to a 22. If I were making the flat-front version, I might grade down a little more at the waist. However, with the button-front, I prefer a little extra wiggle room to avoid gaping.

Shannon in the same outfit, seated on a wrought iron chair, looking up and to one side.

While I mostly followed the instructions, I amended a few things because of the bulkiness of my fabric. Rather than adding my button bands then hemming, I hemmed the skirt first then attached the bands around it. Similarly, on the waistband, I finished the inside waistband piece with bias binding rather than folding the bottom edge under. This reduces bulk around the waist. I also topstitched both the top button band and the waistband.

Shannon standing with her hands in the pockets of her skirt, looking up and to the side.

This skirt is definitely more 70s than most of my wardrobe, but I adore it! It’s already gotten a good amount of wear, and I look forward to layering it with chunky sweaters as the weather continues to cool.

4 thoughts on “Denim Reed

Add yours

  1. Great skirt! But I’m in love with your jumper/vest/whaddaya call this thingie! Did you knit it? Do you have a link to the pattern?
    Love from Germany, Isi

    Like

      1. Thank you! Just looked it up on Ravelry and love all the versions. Love all of Morgan’s other knits as well – please pass on my compliments!

        Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑