Strawberry Thief Shirt

One of my goals moving into next year is filling out my me-made dandy wardrobe, and I can’t think of anything that more closely fits the bill than designs from the English Arts & Crafts movement, with their intricate patterning and emphasis on texture. William Morris’s Strawberry Thief pattern has long been a favorite of mine, so I picked up a length of the Liberty Tana lawn with the express purpose of making a crisp button-front shirt (I have it in another colorway as well, and am debating if two Strawberry Thief shirts is too many…). To take full advantage of the pattern repeat, I knew I wanted to use a shirt with minimal style lines on the front, which meant turning to a menswear shirt pattern rather than my trusty Cashmerette Harrison (which has princess seams).

2017-12-03 003

I have a few in my stash, but I like the clean lines of Simplicity 8427. The goal: to maintain a flat-front with one side bust dart that wouldn’t gape across my chest or hips or overwhelm my shoulders. This, my friends, required work.

simplicity-fitted-shirt-mimigstyle-mimig-mens-pattern-8427-envelope-front

To start with, I cut a size 44 at the shoulders, grading out to a 48 at the hips. I would have started with a 42 except 44 is the cut-off between size ranges, so I didn’t have a 42 included in my pattern. I then did a really basic 1.5″ FBA, creating a bust dart at the side and leaving the extra width open at the bottom (to further accommodate my hips). I added about 1″ of width to the biceps of the sleeves (and what a relief to only need a small full bicep adjustment, compared to the 3-5″ I regularly have to do on women’s patterns!) I muslined at this point, and it was clear that the shoulders were far too broad.

I needed to move the shoulder seam up by nearly 2″ without changing the curve under the arm or losing much width across the back of the shoulders, which meant reshaping the armscyth significantly. I wish I had taken a before/after picture at this point, but honestly I had no idea if it would turn out. There are still a few tweaks I would like to do, but I think it worked okay! I also ended up taking about 2″ off of the hem at this point.

2017-12-03 019

I’m in love with the final product. I worked really, really hard to pattern match the front and carefully place the collar, and it looks SO good. I didn’t take as much care with the cuffs or sleeve plackets, but even those look pretty nice, and now I know I could do so in the future if I wanted.

IMG_20171128_151755524

Because I was looking for a slightly more menswear-styled cut, I didn’t do much shaping on the back beyond grading between sizes. This means it does bunch a little in my lower back, which I may or may not adjust on future versions. The generous curve from my back to my butt means I always need pretty large swayback adjustments if I want things to fit closely, but that adjustment also skews the center back line, which doesn’t work for things cut on the fold or with strictly directional prints like this. I think adding just a little more width on the side seams of the back piece from the lower back down will help.

2017-12-03 030

There are only a few other adjustments I’d like to make to the pattern as a whole. There’s a little bit of extra fabric in the armscyth just above my breasts, which I would like to pinch out — however, I need to add the length back in somewhere so the sleeve can properly ease in, and I haven’t decided where that should be. I’d also like to increase the height of the collar stand by just under 1/4″ to make it a little more accommodating for ties. I used a fairly lightweight interfacing here, too, so my collar folds up on itself a little; upping my interfacing game and using higher-quality stuff is also on my 2018 goals list, so that will be a good place to test something new.

2017-12-03 004

But those are relatively minor issues, and overall I’m just delighted with the pattern, the fabric, and ultimately the end result. I can’t wait to both make more shirts using this pattern and play around with Liberty Tana Lawn more! In the meantime, I’m busy matching my Strawberry Thief shirt to all the dandy things in my wardrobe.

2017-12-14 015

15 thoughts on “Strawberry Thief Shirt

Add yours

  1. Fabulous job–that was a lot of work and the results show that it was well-worth it!! Love almost anything of William Morris and that era!

    Like

  2. Catching up on your blog posts – I love how you share the process! One of my goals for 2018 is to sew a button up shirt. I’ve been leaning towards the Harrison (I’m busty and a size 20) but I love the clean lines of this make of yours.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Being so detailed about the process as at least partially for my own memory, so I can go back and note what I did and what I want to change next time! I should be better about making notes on my pattern packages, but I’m not. You can definitely do it! I had never made a button up shirt before about a year ago and now I’ve made half a dozen (including some baby-sized versions for my niece and nephew!). I love the Harrison a lot; the fit right from the package is almost perfect on me, and the instructions are so good. I think it will be my go-to for solids and busier prints because I like the fit, but this more flat-front look is useful for directional/linear prints! Good luck!

      Like

  3. Lovely shirt, inspiring read. I’ve been thinking about making the pattern they did for their sewsewdif magazine for myself. The wooster mens pants with a dropped crotch and interesting seamlines. Wouls requirelots of adjusting and like you said, might not ever work. I’m finding your journey from femme sewing to dandy sewing very inspiring.

    Like

  4. Lovely shirt, inspiring read. I’ve been thinking about making the pattern they did for their sewsewdif magazine for myself. The wooster mens pants with a dropped crotch and interesting seamlines. Wouls requirelots of adjusting and like you said, might not ever work. I’m finding your journey from femme sewing to dandy sewing very inspiring.

    Like

  5. This is such a lovely rendition of this shirt! It’s really neat to hear in- depth how you adjusted the pattern to your own unique shape.

    With the changes you made to the pattern, did you do a muslin or any other kind of fitting, or did you dive right in with that yummy fabric? I find myself exhausted before I even start at the idea of sewing not one, but TWO versions of a complicated garment… But also don’t want to mess up on my good fabric. What’s your approach?

    Like

    1. Thank you so much!

      I hate doing muslins, but this fabric was kind of precious so I did do one here. When I do make a muslin, I only do the barest amount needed to get an idea of fit, so here I did the front pieces, the back with just the outside yoke, and one sleeve. Enough to see how the shoulder, sleeve, and bust dart fit! It is kind of tiring and sometimes keeps me from approaching more complicated garments because of the idea of doing all that cutting and sewing twice, but if you can get it down to the bare minimum of pattern pieces and seams needed that helps.

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑