Winter witching

Admittedly, this is now very out of season, but I had it cut and ready to sew when it was still in the forties here! Regardless, I look forward to cozying up in this cloud-like wool jersey in the autumn and winter.

2017-05-21 034 (2).JPG

The pattern is a slightly modified Seamwork Winona. The original pattern has a sort of witchy vibe that is lessened but sort of maintained in this version – there’s something a little prim but also gothic about it, somehow.

I will definitely be making this one again – I adore the paneled skirt especially. I made a slim-fitting sleeve with a cuff instead of the bell sleeve of the pattern, but in the future I might just hem the sleeve rather than add a cuff. The pattern is a maxi length (which I might make in the future!) but I went with just below the knee.

2017-05-21 040

I like the fit a lot – I cut a large at the shoulders, 2xl at the bust, and XL from there on down, as a lazy FBA. The fabric is the most gorgeous, cloud-like wool jersey from SR Harris in a soft dove grey.

2017-05-21 052

Making it, I pictured wearing it with the pale grey silk Colette Cinnamon slip that I made a couple of winters ago, for a very lush me-made winter combo, and it works perfectly. I’m picturing it with a gigantic blanket scarf, lace-up boots, and big chunky earrings come November, and even though I’m looking forward to summer there’s a part of me that can’t wait!

6 thoughts on “Winter witching

Add yours

      1. I’ve found Indies to be VERY hit and miss, and can be a bit of a vigilante when it comes to spreading the word about issues. I think that sometimes, the rather solitary business of sewing, prolongs the period when you don’t feel confident, and blame problems on your own abilities, or lack of them. Because of that, and the current trend for people to set up as ‘designers’ and pattern makers without much actual skill, home sewers are getting ripped off, and wasting a lot of time and money. *cough* Tilly. *cough* Collette *cough* Hot Patterns *cough* Reconstructing History.
        Sorry, bad cough there.
        There are GREAT ones too, like Style Arc, Wearing History, Truly Victorian and so forth. I think as bloggers, with lots of self-confidence, we need to be brutally honest about some of these shoddy patterns too, not just posting successes. Oh yes, and use Pattern Review as another great way to get the word out.
        Keep on sassing!

        Like

        1. I totally agree with being honest about things that just don’t work! I’ve had a spate of good makes since I started this blog, but I’ve been frank about unsuccessful projects on instagram before. I do think that there’s a problem with some indies being aggressively controlling over negative messaging, and I appreciate those in the sewing community who have received hostile private messages or had reviews or comments removed speaking out – it hasn’t happened to me, so I have nothing personal to add to that conversation at this point. Of those companies that have issues, I’ve stuck with Colette/Seamwork since their early days because their block (the old one at least, I haven’t tried the new one yet) actually fits me pretty well, with the same minimal adjustments I also have to make to Big 4 patterns but a more reasonable amount of ease. As a result, I tend to use Seamwork patterns as bases for projects simply because I already know the adjustments I need to make.

          I do want more conversations about the learning curve of starting out sewing, of being gentle with your own mistakes and building your confidence, but also about when it’s time to blame a pattern, not yourself, for issues. Honestly, those are still hard things for me to figure out after a few years of sewing, especially given my tendency to disregard instructions anyway.

          (As a side note, I also hope the big 4 keep moving in the direction of better styling on their pattern envelopes — the often terrible fabric choices and over-the-top accessories/makeup/hair pushed me away at first, when I was still figuring out how to match up the aesthetic in my mind with what was actually achievable. That’s one place where indies are light-years ahead, making promotional images that actually have a cohesive and on-trend point of view – thinking of companies like Closet Case Patterns, Grainline, Cashmerette here).

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I can see how the Indie styling appeals to younger people, not so much to me I must admit, but i’m a wizened and cynical old bat! I liked the old days of line drawings and some cover art [so beautifully dated now] rather than crappy photos with ill-fitting garments…and so many in black so you can’t see any detail ! [Yes Vogue, we’re looking at you] I do like the more interesting patterns though, most Indie’s know their audience and produce excessively simple, basic shapes. Meh, give me some Lynn Mizono or Marcie Tilton any day!

            Like

            1. Ha, I think I do count as a young person in this case. I do love the old line drawings, but I will admit I also like these days of at least occasionally seeing patterns modeled by people with bodies similar to mine! I’m with you on the abundance of simple, basic patterns, too, though; tee-shirt patterns abound, and I have never wanted to sew my own tee-shirts in my life!

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

