The Arrival of Spring

2017-05-05 011 (2)

I’ve had this floral ponte fabric for two years, with the ongoing intention of making a paneled, close-fitting sheath dress, but I kept getting held up. I found a couple of likely patterns, but knowing that I would need to do a FBA and other adjustments to get it to fit perfectly kept me from attacking it.

Then, I went out dancing. I wore a princess-seamed paneled ponte dress that I’ve always adored the fit of, but don’t wear a lot because of the short length. A quick inspection of the seamlines showed that it wouldn’t be hard to trace off in pattern form, so out came the tracing paper!

2017-05-05 016

It is constructed with three panels front and back, both with princess seams, and a neckline facing. I ended up only making a few tweaks to my sketched pattern after basting the body together and trying it on, though if I make it again, I’ll probably scoop a little more out of the armholes in the front and do a small swayback adjustment.

2017-05-05 014

I pegged the skirt in a little at the hem by curving in each of the panel seamlines just a smidge, and after wearing it I think I could bring it in even a little more if I wanted. I’m envisioning a plain navy version, perhaps with a deeper scoop neck and a neckline band, which would be perfect for some summer travels I have coming up! I also have a good two yards of this fabric left, so I’m envisioning a skirt and crop top coordinate set as well.

2017-05-05 007

One thought on “The Arrival of Spring

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

